Weaving a Holiday Tradition

I Love the holiday season. I like how comforting it is to participate in familiar traditions and activities. Despite the inevitable dysfunctional moment, family gatherings are always delightful.

I have played many rolls in this saga. From eager child – dying to see far flung cousins and open gifts- to new parent, busy with holiday shopping and traveling to gatherings- to host and chief cook and bottle washer for huge family gatherings-and now, finally, to honored guest at the table of my offspring. Each roll has been fun and energizing. I am  getting used to the last one in a surprising hurry! Showing up with a pie and a bottle of wine takes me back to my college days!

What can I offer that is new and different? With all this spare time on my hands, I can weave new traditions, such as handmade ornaments and gifts.

2015-11-25 18.35.07

I can partake of delicious foods and treats without the stress of hosting large parties and elaborate dinners. 2015-12-13 17.08.482012-12-25 18.37.022015-10-04 12.37.37

I can make pretty bracelets and earrings in “all my spare time”.

2015-12-19 18.37.582015-12-19 18.40.462015-12-19 18.41.53

I can relax and visit with friends and family

Happy Holidays everybody!

Leave a Reply

