Etsy Beadweavers April Challenge

Hi there everybody. Spring is about to arrive. It is currently hiding just behind a snow storm here in Wisconsin!

2016-03-15 17.26.53

Just wanted to let you know that the Etsy Beadweaver group has an April challenge that I have entered. It will be my first time entering an item in any kind of challenge and I am excited!

The theme for April is Pompei. I tried to use colors that reminded me of the ancient Greek pottery with deep reds and black. I added accents of dark green and gold as well.

Some of my fondest memories as a child was listening to my dad read from a book of Greek mythologies. Therefore, I wanted to get into the ancient Greek frame of mind by adding a focal piece that refers to a Greek myth.

I chose a cabochon with a depiction of Hercules accepting wine from Hippolyte. He is wearing his lion skin and hoping to charm her our of her girdle. As I am sure you all know already, this was his ninth labor. (I admit, I had to look it up myself).

2016-03-24 19.20.00

Please feel free to look at this in my shop, and also, to vote on the challenges when voting opens after April 5’th. ( https://www.etsy.com/uk/listing/273686308/ebwc-colors-of-pompei-cuff-bracelet?ref=shop_home_active_1 )

This link was very helpful in getting me started on color choices and themes: http://www.etsy-beadweavers.blogspot.com/2016/03/etsy-beadweavers-april-2016-challenge.html

I will post the challenge here and on my Facebook page when it goes live for voting.

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

