The Evolution of a Signature Design: The “Flying V” Choker

 

Evolution of design

These round scoops were the first version of the Flying V choker necklaces. They were made with 3 mm cubes and finished with buttons.

I then started using 4 MM squares to make a bigger statement. I switched from a soft scoop to a bold V shape.

I named my new design the FLYING V- because the shape reminds me of a flock of migrating geese:

I used sharply contrasting colors for a bold statement. Root beer brown and metallic bronze, or  Gunmetal black with gold…

I tried matte finish with shiny borders and shiny interiors with matte borders

I progressed then, to evoking the colors of the natural world: the soft summer colors of an oak opening, the Sunset, and the sunrise.

This one evokes the deep greens of the maple woods, with a chain that mimics the maple Samara.

 

Below, I was inspired by Lake Superior at dawn:

2013-10-04 18.07.05DSC06269 copy2015-10-09 17.59.38DSC06281 copy

 

Also, Sunrise on the grasslands: Note the beaded buttons on this piece.

DSC06285 copyDSC02297

One thought on “The Evolution of a Signature Design: The “Flying V” Choker

Leave a Reply

